I’m always a bit cautious when it comes to supergroups. More often than not, the band never equals or exceeds the sum of its parts. But if “The Arrival” is anything to go on, Filthy Friends will not disappoint. The combination of Corin Tucker (Sleater-Kinney), Peter Buck (R.E.M.), Bill Rieflin (King Crimson), Kurt Bloch and Scott McCaughey (Minus 5) boil down their personalities into a short, punky blast.

Tucker’s belting howl remains as powerful as ever. But the song’s grungy chords give her space to ebb and flow in her delivery. When the chorus comes in, the famous jangle of Buck’s guitar enters the scene, a bit harsher than with R.E.M. Outside of his solo work, it’s been years since we’ve heard that tone. Its return is very welcome. Put these elements together with the earthquake of Minus 5 and the roustabout drumming of Rieflin. What do you get? A melodic, lively announcement of a new supergroup on the scene. Filthy Friends have arrived.

Their debut album, Invitation, is out on August 25 via Kill Rock Stars.